Skip to main content
Main content

The Cronulla Sharks took out the 2016 Telstra Premiership with an epic and hard-fought 14-12 win over the Storm. For the third time in as many seasons history was made as an NRL club broke a long drought following historic wins to the Rabbitohs in 2014 and Cowboys in 2015. The long wait for a maiden premiership for Cronulla fans ended in the club's 50th season as veteran skipper Paul Gallen was finally rewarded for his decade and a half of dedicated service and retiring hooker Michael Ennis notched the rare achievement of going out with a Grand Final win.

Clive Churchill medallist Luke Lewis won his second grand final 13 years after his first, in 2003 with Penrith. His close mate, young-gun Jack Bird, joined the likes of Rabbitohs Sam Burgess and John Sattler by starring in a premiership win despite serious injury after playing on despite a painful first-half elbow injury.

The match itself was a thriller, with the Storm launching a remarkable comeback after being pounded in the first half to take the lead midway through the second half. A powerful Andrew Fifita try put the Sharks back in front before a last-gasp attacking raid from the Storm came agonisingly close to stealing a win on the final siren.

pic-7 pic-5 pic-3 pic-8 pic-6 pic-4 pic-2 pic-9
Stay Tuned for 2017 Grand Final Information